Lesson Plan 8 - 10.30.18



Project 2: Example: http://iv4nd.blogspot.com/2017/11/blogpostnumbr4audioediting.html

Today, focus on getting interview story finished so next week you can focus on music and fx. Use out of class time if need be so you are ready to go next week with fx and music. Sign up for Sound Cloud before next week (11/6).

Go over tutorial in Reference Guide (p. 36) and your own review / tutorial:

REVIEW OLD PREMIERE STUFF:
Folder Structure for this project should be (inside your 160 folder, Project 02 > Audio, Project Files, Transcripts, and Exports.

Inside Audio folder, you should have 4 folders: Interview, Music, Ambient, Sound Effects

Create a NEW PROJECT and name it lastname_160audioproject

In the New Project pop-up window, click browse and set the project location to your Premiere folder inside your Assignment 2 folder

Set your Scratch Disks to “same as Project” and click OK

Go into Preferences and change the following settings:

  1. Under Media Cache tab click “Save next to originals when possible” and set the location to your Premiere project file
  2. Auto-Save tab: save every 5 minutes with 20 max copies set to back-up as same location as your Premiere folder and hit OK

Review Windows/Panels
·       Media Browser  
·       Source Window
·       Program Panel
·       Timeline

IMPORT MEDIA:  File > Import (or Command - i) and navigate to your Audio folder, click ok

SHOW STUDENTS MONO VS STEREO

Create a NEW SEQUENCE: File > New Sequence (or Command - N)
Select AVCHD 1080p 24 preset
Tracks: select desired number of Audio and Video tracks (for the audio project, choose 1 video track and 3 audio tracks). Audio Master set to Stereo. Name it Sequence 1 and hit OK

Editing in the Source panel - Insert Edit and 3-point Editing
You can scrub through your footage using the J, K, L and spacebar or by clicking and dragging the playhead

Select In(i) and Out(o) points on your timeline and then either an In or an Out point in your Source window and hit the comma key or period key (Play In and out Points only: Option K / Clear In and Out: Option X)

Insert Edit option by clicking or hitting “,” comma

Overwrite Edit, which replaces, with “.”

! KEEP TRACK OF WHERE YOUR PLAYHEAD IS !

Editing in the Timeline + Tools
Make sure Snapping (S) is on, the small magnet icon (or press “s"), will snap the ends of clips together.

Selection Tool (V): click and drag clips around

Nudging: Select the clip, hold the command key and use the left or right arrow keys to nudge clip one frame at a time

Trim Edit: placing the cursor at an end point with the selection tool will turn it into a Red trim tool and you can push clips in or drag them out to extend them

Ripple Edit (B): Adjust the position of other clips on the Timeline to prevent any gaps.  I.e. if you do a Ripple Edit to shorten a clip, every clip to the right of the edit will move to the left to fill in the gap created.  Conversely, if you extend the edit, every clip to the right will move right instead of being overwritten. 

·       To RIPPLE DELETE, select the clip or set Ins and Outs on the timeline, then
either hit option delete or use the “Extract” option (shortcut key is “ ‘ “).
This will remove the clip or section selected, but leave no gap on your
timeline.

·       To OVERWRITE/LIFT DELETE”select the clip or set Ins and Outs on the timeline, then
either hit delete or use the “Lift” option (shortcut key is “;”). This will leave
a gap on your timeline.

Left side of Timeline: Control area for each tracks in ascending order.  Audio tracks = A1, A2, A3 and video tracks = V1.  The M button will disable the audio on the selected track and the eye icon will disable the imagery. 

Synch Lock: you may need to use during this project. Will teach you later.

Audio Meters: to the right. They display the audio levels of whatever media you are currently playing in any of the windows.

Transitions:
Cross-Dissolves and Cross-Fades (Constant Power): using the Selection tool, click on the edit between the two clips you would like to dissolve into each other.  The edit should now be red. Sequence > Apply Audio Transition (Command Shift D).  You can also Trim Edit the dissolve length.

MOVING ON: NEW PREMIERE STUFF!
Stereo vs Mono:
·       Import Footage
·       Highlight/Select all of your files in the Project Monitor
·       Right Click / Control Click > Modify >Audio Channels > Mono
This will make your life much easier in the edit.
Please do this for every interview, song or sound effect you bring in.
Thanks!

Markers: Hit the “m” where you want to mark a clip. Double click on the marker and you can label it.

Adjusting the Volume for whole Clip and with Key Frames:
Your target volume for your audio piece is -12db.
·       Scrub through all the clips on your timeline and try to make the average volume for the clip around -12db. 

·       You can do this by clicking and dragging the horizontal bar in the middle of your clip up or down.  It won’t be perfect but try to find a good starting place.
***If you don’t see the yellow/white line: click the “volume menu” at the top of the clip (fx) control click, then select Volume > Level***

·       AUDIO GAIN: Control Click on clip, scroll down to Audio Gain > Adjust Gain By > You can put a number in there OR toggle left or right to raise or lower levels.
Tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=03xTSAmtxm4

Monitor the audio levels.
·       Do not rely on your hearing to measure the audio levels.
·       Use the Audio meter to help to measure:
·       Interviewee’s voice: should peak around -12dB.
·       Other sounds: should peak between -30db and -24db.
·       NOTHING can ever get above 0db.
·       Prioritize your subject’s voice.

Key Frames: For adjusting the volume of just a portion of the clip. Hold Command and click on the volume line.  Click on another portion of the clip that you want to adjust and create more key frames.  This will allow you to adjust just a portion of the volume.  Raise or lower the volume by dragging the line in-between the key frames.  The goal is to make the adjustment as smooth and unnoticeable as possible. To delete a keyframe, click on it (turns blue) and delete it.
Tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0l_LP3abYjU (watch until 2:55, you don’t need to watch more)

Select a Track: On your Timeline, highlight the track where you would like to place the piece of clip.  (Column right of the lock symbol will turn blue when selected.) If you hit the comma button and the clips on other tracks gets cut or moved, try unlocking the synch track on those tracks getting displaced or hitting the period button instead of the comma.
Still confused? Here is a link to a good tutorial:
https://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-pro/using/source-patching-track-targetting.html

WE WILL FOCUS ON THIS MORE NEXT WEEK

MAKE SURE YOU SAVE AND DATE FILE AFTER EVERY TIME YOU OPEN AND WORK ON IT

More Review:

***COMMAND Z (UNDO) IS YOUR FRIEND – YOU CAN ALWAYS CMMD Z IF YOU ARE LOST***

TOOL BAR - (Bottom Center) all of the tools you need to cut your footage in a million ways. For the next two weeks, we will mostly use the RAZOR tool (shortcut “c”) and the POINTER tool (shortcut “v”.) How to make a cut, using BLADE, or command + K

Zoom in/out into the Timeline (using + / -) or command + / - to re-size tracks,
see more or less

CLOSE GAPS: Sequence>Close Gaps
New 2018 PP Command
­­­­

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Free Sound and Music Resources

Info for Spring 160 class I just subbed

Sony Alpha 3000 Camera Settings REMINDER for Shoot on Tuesday Nov 20