Lesson Plan 5 - 10.9 Music / Titles and Complete Project 1
Premiere Demo (20 min)
TRIMMING:
-If you want to trim the beginning or the end of your clip, place the pointer (v) over the edge you want to trim until a red handlebar thing appears.
-Pull this out or push it in to trim the clip, or extend something you had cut before.
-There are a lot of ways to cut on the timeline, but we'll start with those
TRANSITIONS:
TITLES:
WORKSHOP (1hr)
-use the rest of the time to *hopefully* finish your piece but you have until next Sunday night to send it in
-Maybe 30 minutes before the end of class (if needed/wanted), we’ll do a demo on exporting, uploading and embedding to their Vimeo
-Export and Upload to Vimeo
-Embed on your Blog
EMBEDDING YOUR BLOG ON VIMEO:
Reference Guide Pages 28-29
TROUBLESHOOTING:
If you are working on something and get stuck just google the issue. There are a million dudes out there mansplaining how to use Premiere Pro. Some are annoying and some are really good. I think you also have access to Lynda.com through the Hunter Library for FREE. This is a great resource and if you are into Premiere Pro you may want to take online lessons. That is how I initially learned.
Here are a few decent tutorials I quickly found on Youtube:
Program Panel Image is Blown Up - Scale To Frame Size: Also, something came up last week that you will most likely see somewhere down the line. An image in your Program monitor will be blown up or enlarged and you have no idea why.
Try going into your sequence/timeline, highlight the piece that is enlarged, right click and scroll down to "Scale to Frame Size" and see if that works. (See screengrab below)

TRIMMING:
-If you want to trim the beginning or the end of your clip, place the pointer (v) over the edge you want to trim until a red handlebar thing appears.
-Pull this out or push it in to trim the clip, or extend something you had cut before.
-There are a lot of ways to cut on the timeline, but we'll start with those
TRANSITIONS:
-Source Window>Effects>Video
Transitions>Dissolve>Cross Dissolve
-Grab the
Cross-Dissolve effect and drag it onto the clip that you want to either fade
in/fade out or cross dissolve
-Faster
Way: Command D, this will add a
Dissolve at the beginning of your clip. If you want to Cross-Dissolve
between two clips, select them both and hit Command D. You can lengthen or
shorten this effect just like you would any video clip
-Fast Way
For Audio: SHIFT + COMMAND + D
-Slower Way: Project Window > Effects > Audio Transitions >Crossfade>...try all three..
-Slower Way: Project Window > Effects > Audio Transitions >Crossfade>...try all three..
-Feel free to browse through the other Video and
Audio Transitions.
TITLES:
-Create a New Bin in your Source Window called Titles
-Go to File>New>Legacy Title> …and add the text you would like…
-Save
-The title will now appear in your Source window.
-Go to File>New>Legacy Title> …and add the text you would like…
-Save
-The title will now appear in your Source window.
-Go ahead and put it in your Title bin just to be
organized.
-Now drag the title onto your timeline in the place you would
like it to be.
-Pull the edge out or
push it in to make it longer or shorter
MUSIC:
-Place your music file inside the Audio folder on your hard drive in your project folder
-Now go into Premiere and import this file
-Drag this file onto your timeline onto Audio Track 1 or 2 (if you have a track on 1)
-You can cut and trim your music track just like you would a video track
-Lock your picture track so
you don’t have to worry about accidentally cutting your picture track-Place your music file inside the Audio folder on your hard drive in your project folder
-Now go into Premiere and import this file
-Drag this file onto your timeline onto Audio Track 1 or 2 (if you have a track on 1)
-You can cut and trim your music track just like you would a video track
WORKSHOP (1hr)
-use the rest of the time to *hopefully* finish your piece but you have until next Sunday night to send it in
-Maybe 30 minutes before the end of class (if needed/wanted), we’ll do a demo on exporting, uploading and embedding to their Vimeo
-Export and Upload to Vimeo
-Embed on your Blog
EXPORTING REFRESHER:
-You can follow along on the reference guide but remember to use settings below - NOT quicktime settings in reference guide - This will save you time.
-Export what you have
into a Mp4/MOV file using the following settings:
-File > Export > Export media
-Use the following settings:
MP4 SETTING FOR
VIMEO (ONE WE WILL BE DOING FOR ASSIGNMENT 1):
Format: H.264
Preset: Vimeo 1080p
HD
Output Name -CHANGE
OUTPUT NAME with today's date -: Define A Space_YourName
Video Codec: H264*
if the custom preset is not showing up, your codec may not be set to H264
Frame Rate: 23.97
(should be gray since you are on a Vimeo 1080p =HD preset)
Field Order:
Progressive (should be gray since you are on a Vimeo 1080p =HD preset)
Aspect: Square
Pixels (1.0)
Width: 1920
Height: 1080
Height: 1080
EMBEDDING YOUR BLOG ON VIMEO:
Reference Guide Pages 28-29
TROUBLESHOOTING:
If you are working on something and get stuck just google the issue. There are a million dudes out there mansplaining how to use Premiere Pro. Some are annoying and some are really good. I think you also have access to Lynda.com through the Hunter Library for FREE. This is a great resource and if you are into Premiere Pro you may want to take online lessons. That is how I initially learned.
Here are a few decent tutorials I quickly found on Youtube:
Lighten up images:
Creating Fades in audio:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izZy5EWxrDE
Create a Legacy title in Adobe Premiere:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=canTAKfeIV8
Warp Stabilization:
-Highlight clip you want to stabilize
-Control click the clip and scroll down to "Nest"
-In the Project Panel, click on "Effects"
-In the Search Box type in "warp stabilizer"
-Grab the effect and drag onto the clip
-You should be good to go...
Tutorial (:30-1:49)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hIPdDpNvc60
If you get an ERROR read that says, "Warp stabilizer requires clip dimensions to match sequence", just follow my written directions above and that should get rid of it.
Tutorial for Warp Stabilizer ERROR:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKcoyf5KVF8
Warp Stabilization:
-Highlight clip you want to stabilize
-Control click the clip and scroll down to "Nest"
-In the Project Panel, click on "Effects"
-In the Search Box type in "warp stabilizer"
-Grab the effect and drag onto the clip
-You should be good to go...
Tutorial (:30-1:49)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hIPdDpNvc60
If you get an ERROR read that says, "Warp stabilizer requires clip dimensions to match sequence", just follow my written directions above and that should get rid of it.
Tutorial for Warp Stabilizer ERROR:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKcoyf5KVF8
Program Panel Image is Blown Up - Scale To Frame Size: Also, something came up last week that you will most likely see somewhere down the line. An image in your Program monitor will be blown up or enlarged and you have no idea why.
Try going into your sequence/timeline, highlight the piece that is enlarged, right click and scroll down to "Scale to Frame Size" and see if that works. (See screengrab below)

Comments
Post a Comment