Agenda Lab 4: Intro to Premiere - Please Read in Conjunction with Reference Guide (Oct 2)
Lesson Plan Lab #4
Take
attendance
Show
where Reference Guide is on blog, so they can look at it when they are working
outside
of class time
Understanding
the editing process
Folder
Structure/Workflow
Premiere
interface
Import
footage
Creating
sequences
Three-point
editing
Cutting
on the Timeline
Export
Save your premier file from the day with the date on it
Export
Save your premier file from the day with the date on it
1.
Premiere tutorial, please ask questions as I go, I may miss things
· Stress
importance of ORGANIZATION
· Your
Premiere Pro Project file does not actually contain your
media, but rather it references your media. This means that you should
know where you are storing your footage so
that your project file can read
it. Being organized will help with that.
· Everything
needs to be in one folder, this is scratch disks, moving around
a lot
· I
think you should keep everything on your hard-drive, and backup to your
desktop or google drive/dropbox at end of
every day
· Create
a proper folder structure on your hard drive: Media 160 > Project 1 >
Media > Project Files (later we will create “Audio” and “Export” files)
2.
NEW PROJECT - go over opening,
saving, SCRATCH DISK locations
· Create
a new project in Premiere: Open Premiere > new project named
“DefineAPlace_Lastname”. Make sure the project is located in your “Premiere”
folder and that your scratch disks are all located in “Same as Project”
3.
Layout / Interface of premiere
· Project
(lower left corner): where you store clips and sequences.
· Source
(upper left corner): where you preview and trim the clips.
· Program
(upper right corner): where you see the timeline edits.
· Timeline
(lower right corner): where you lay out the sequence.
Show how the program is malleable, and how to reset the layout of the screen
under Window
4.
SHORTCUTS OF INTERFACE:
· TILDA (under escape)
shows each layout in FULL SCREEN
· Project
– show them ICON View VS List View
5.
Creating bins, show bin icon, or file > new bin
· Sequences
· Footage
· Audio
· Titles
6.
IMPORT footage FILE>IMPORT or Command I
· The
program will automatically unpack the AVCHD file into the individual MTS/Stream
clips/files. Hit "ok" when you get the error message about not being
able to import everything
7.
Creating new SEQUENCE and matching
how you shot, file> new Sequence OR Command N
>Preset
AVCHD 1080P/24
8.
Concept of 3-point editing
Scrub through
each of your clips, click on the icon of each file in the Project window, it
will then show up in the Source window and play through each clip (using
spacebar to play/pause, “J” to go backwards and “L” to go forwards). Select the
portions you want in the Source window using the “i” and “o” keys for In and
Out.
§ LOAD
CLIPS by double-clicking
· PLAY/PAUSE=SPACEBAR
o
J
– backwards
o
K
– stop/pause
o
L
– forwards
· Slow
Motion:
Forwards:
Hold K and Tap L
Backwards:
Hold K and Tap J
Or
ARROWS ON KEYBOARD advance Frame By Frame
· IN
/ OUT POINTS
"In" meaning where you want the
clip to start and "o" meaning where you want the clip to end. After
you've selected the In and Out marks for your clip, hit the comma key, and your
selection will automatically go on your timeline after the Playhead.
Play In and out Points only: Option K
Clear In and Out: Option X
· PLAYHEAD:
Specify with your PLAYHEAD where in the timeline you want your
clip to go. Always make sure you know where your Playhead is on the
timeline because clips will always come after the Playhead. !!!ALWAYS BE AWARE OF WHERE THE PLAYHEAD IS!!!
· Make
sure SNAPPING is on by clicking the magnetic icon or “s"
· INSERT
EDIT option by clicking or hitting “,” comma
· Or
OVERWRITE edit, which replaces, with “.”
· To
“LIFT DELETE” select the clip or set Ins and Outs on the timeline, then
either hit delete or use the “Lift” option (shortcut key is “;”). This will leave
a gap on your timeline.
· To
“RIPPLE DELETE,” select the clip or set Ins and Outs on the timeline, then
either hit option delete or use the “Extract” option (shortcut key is “ ‘ “).
This will remove the clip or section selected,
but leave no gap on your
timeline.
§ Show
how to pull audio or video only by grabbing icon from source
Window
***COMMAND Z (UNDO) IS YOUR FRIEND – YOU
CAN ALWAYS CMMD Z IF YOU ARE LOST***
TOOL BAR - (Bottom Center) all of the tools you need to cut your footage
in a million ways. For the next two weeks, we will mostly use the RAZOR tool (shortcut “c”) and the POINTER tool (shortcut “v”.) How
to make a cut, using BLADE, or command +
K
Go
over concept of bringing all of your clips forward, moving the whole timeline
with
the forward icon
1.
Show how easy it is to mistakenly
delete stuff
Zoom in/out into the Timeline
(using + / -) or command + / - to re-size tracks,
see more or less
CLOSE GAPS: Sequence>Close Gaps
New 2018 PP Command
SAVING
PROJECT FOR TODAY:
Save your
current Premiere Project file
Save your Project file from that day as "100218_DefineAPlaceProject" and either email it to yourself or upload it to Google Drive. This is in case your hard drive dies or your project file gets corrupted, you want a version of your Premiere project in two different places.
You should be working off your hard drive and everything should be in one folder.
Save your Project file from that day as "100218_DefineAPlaceProject" and either email it to yourself or upload it to Google Drive. This is in case your hard drive dies or your project file gets corrupted, you want a version of your Premiere project in two different places.
You should be working off your hard drive and everything should be in one folder.
When You Project is Finished and You are Ready to Export:
Export what
you have into a Mp4/MOV file using the following settings:
File > Export > Export media
File > Export > Export media
Use the following settings:
MP4 SETTING FOR VIMEO (ONE WE WILL BE DOING FOR
ASSIGNMENT 1):
Format: H.264
Preset: Vimeo
1080p HD
Output Name
-CHANGE OUTPUT NAME -: Define A Space_YourName
Video Codec:
H264* if the custom preset is not showing up, your codec may not be set to H264
Frame Rate:
23.97 (should be gray since you are on a Vimeo 1080p =HD preset)
Field Order:
Progressive (should be gray since you are on a Vimeo 1080p =HD preset)
Aspect:
Square Pixels (1.0)
Width: 1920
Height: 1080
MOV SETTING:
Format:
Quicktime
Preset:
Custom
Output Name:
Define A Space_YourName
Video Codec:
H264* if the custom preset is not showing up, your codec may not be set to H264
Frame Rate:
23.97
Field Order:
Progressive
Aspect:
Square
Width: 1920*
you may have to adjust this manually or type the numbers in
Height: 1080*
you may have to adjust this manually or type the numbers in
Quality: 90*
you will have to adjust this manually
Next week: Group
feedback session, then Transitions and Titles, and adding a music track to your
timeline. (Bring a music file to class next week.)
Pick out your favorite clips (around 15), from your Source window (your in/out marks will still be there)
Circulate
NEXT WEEK:
Transitions
1. Cross-dissolve (COMMAND + D: Video; SHIFT +
COMMAND + D: Audio)
2. Window > Effects > must be turned on
3. Effects > Video Transitions >
Dissolve
4. To delete an effect: CLICK and DELETE.
Titles
1. File > New > Legacy Title
2. Stay within the safe action and the safe
title border area.
EXPORT FINAL
Comments
Post a Comment